Photos of La Habana (Havana), the Cuban capital, Cuba

Images of the World
Flag of Cuba

La Habana (Havana), the Cuban capital

Havana (La Habana), Cuba’s capital city, has a population of 2.1 million inhabitants and is the largest and most populous city in the Caribbean region. It was founded by the Spanish; initially Conquistador Diego Velázquez de Cuéllar founded Havana on 25 August 1515, on the southern coast of the island, but this failed; between 1514 and 1519 the Spanish established also at least two different settlements on the north coast, but the town that became the present city of Havana finally originated next to a natural bay, which now is Havana's harbour. Its name, San Cristóbal de la Habana, was given to it by Pánfilo de Narváez - San Cristóbal became Havana’s patron saint.

Iglesia del Sagrado Corazón de Jesus
Calle Simón Bolívar
Parque El Curita
Parque El Curita
Along Parque El Curita, Havana
Avenida Zanja, Barrio Chino
Capitolio Nacional
Along the Paseo de Martí
Fuente de la India o la Noble Habana
To Paseo de Martí, Havana
Gran Teatro de la Habana
Statue of José Martí
Horse-drawn carriages
Calle Teniente Rey, Havana
Boys playing chess, Havana
Paintings for sale, Paseo de Martí
“Moorish” architecture
Pictures of Che Guevara for sale
Art objects for sale, Paseo de Martí
Palatial home, Paseo de Martí
Houses, Paseo de Martí
Hotel Sevilla, Havana
SU-100 tank, Revolution Museum
Museum of the Revolution, Havana
'Cretin's Corner”, Revolution Museum
Dome, Revolution Museum
Fidel Castro, Revolution Museum
Eternal Flame, Revolution Museum
Missile and U-2 debris
Quiet neighbourhood in Havana
Plaza de la Revolución, Cocotaxis
Monumento a José Martí
Monumento a José Martí
Mural of Che Guevara
Necrópolis Cristóbal Colón
La Milagros, Necrópolis Cristóbal Colón
Main path, Necrópolis Cristóbal Colón
Cross at Callejón de Hamel
Callejón de Hamel
Callejón de Hamel
Pedestal of the first president
Statue of Simón Bolívar
Along the Avenida de los Presidentes
Monument of José Miguel Gómez
Hotel Habana Libre
Along Cuba Tacón
José Martí Birthplace Museum, Havana
Iglesia de Paula, Havana

Initially Havana was just a base for the Spanish conquests of he Americas, due to its strategic location, but the first governor of Cuba, Dr. Gonzalo Perez de Angulo, who arrived in 1549, chose to reside in Havana instead of Santiago and built Havana's first masonry church. But as a trading port it suffered regular attacks by buccaneers, pirates and French corsairs: in 1555 the French corsair Jacques de Sores burned the town and the Spanish constructed a system of walls and forts. King Philip II of Spain granted Havana the title of City in 1592. Havana expanded greatly in the 17th century and by the middle of the 18th century Havana, with more than seventy thousand inhabitants, was the third-largest city in the Americas. The city was captured in 1762 by the British during the Seven Years' War. The British opened up trade with their North American and Caribbean colonies, causing a rapid transformation of Cuban society but less than a year after Havana was occupied, the Peace of Paris was signed in which the British swapped Cuba for Florida.

In the 19th century Havana became a flourishing and fashionable city, featuring theatres and classical mansions, being called the “Paris of the Antilles”. In 1863, the city walls were knocked down so that the metropolis could be enlarged. Contemporary Havana can now essentially be described as three cities in one: Habana Vieja (Old Havana), the original town with its narrow streets and buildings, Vedado, a central business centre and neighbourhood developed in the first half of the 20th century between the old city and Miramar along the coast, and the newer suburban districts. After many years of prohibition, the communist government increasingly has turned to tourism and now allows foreign investors to build new hotels and develop the hospitality industry. And owners of the many vintage cars from the 1950s, a direct result from the long American boycott, now find these are an asset to take tourists for a ride!